What it is like to live your life as a hypochondriac

A hypochondriac is a person who has health anxiety, meaning they panic and stress over illnesses, diseases and/or even death.

Before I was diagnosed with anxiety disorder, I had no idea what a panic attack was and most people don’t realise it but panic attacks can occur at inconvenient or inappropriate times so when I’d be watching TV or playing video games, suddenly I’d feel like I’m having a heart attack or I can’t breathe when really all my body was doing was producing too much adrenaline that I started breathing faster than normal aka “hyperventilating“. 

Since I started studying science at school and learning about illnesses and diseases and seeing adverts on TV about heart disease, cancer and life insurance, I became paranoid. 

I’m terrified of getting on a bus because I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome aka Myalgic Encephalomyelitis which makes me tired a lot so I worry I might get robbed or worse, raped and murdered. As soon as I feel sick or experience a symptom that is unusual, I have no choice but to visit the hospital for answers. When I have an episode of Tachycardia, I have to call an ambulance to reassure myself that I’m not having a heart attack and not going to die.

So what is it like being a hypochondriac? Two words: It’s hell. You’re constantly panicking and worrying about your health and you just want to feel safe and not suffer. It’s the hardest thing to deal with and live with. Health anxiety is one of the biggest problems in the UK for the NHS and I try as hard as I can to avoid being admitted to hospital, even when I experience tachycardia because a lot of the people in hospital have health anxiety.

How to cope with health anxiety 

There are many ways to cope with health anxiety. Firstly, you’re worrying that you have every illness or disease in the medical book, the best thing to do is discuss this with your regular doctor and have a blood test. A blood test can rule out a lot of things from diabetes, heart disease, arthritis to cancer, HIV/AIDS or any forms of hepatitis.

Your doctor can also order a full body MIR scan, this is like an x-ray except around your whole body and the scan images have further details. 

Try to study more on the illnesses and diseases that you’re worried about as this will help you understand how you’d know if you’d have them and will put your mind at ease. 

Have your doctor prescribe you multi vitamins and minerals, buy some Echinacea Goldenseal and do a lot of cardio workout as well as eating healthy as this will prolong your life.

Photo credit: Google Images™ 

